Posted by: pmlemar | June 30, 2010

Start of a New Adventure

As I am sitting here, I am planning my next adventure. I have always loved travel and would give anything to do it more often. This weekend, for instance, is just a little trip, not even a vacation. Tomorrow morning, my parents and I will journey up to Grand Forks, ND to visit my sister Michelle, her hubby Casey and their daughter Alexis. They just moved up there themselves, and we’re thrilled because this means we can visit more often. Well, at least my parents can. Who knows where I’ll be after the middle of August? I hope to know before August where I’ll be, but sometimes things don’t work out the way one hopes.

There are two constants in my life I can always rely upon: my love of travel and my passion for books. After those two facts, anything goes! I’ve moved around pretty often, most of it was between the ages 1 and 16. It’s amazing to think we’ve lived in one state for 7 years! That literally is a record for me and it feels kind of weird staying in one place, thus the need to travel frequently. My friends are always commenting on how I am always jetting off someplace. Then again, those friends are the ones who have gone to places like Europe and Africa what I would call frequently. I take affordable trips and just around the US for the most part.

The biggest trip I ever took was to London for a class my sophomore year. I would give anything to go back and explore more of the city and venture out into the countryside. I would also love to see more of Europe. But, for now, the United States has captured my attention. I’ve been to 48 states, and it’s my goal to make it to those last two before I’m 25. That means I have a little less than 2 years to do it. Think I can? We’ll find out! Luckily those last two are on the same side of the country. For a while, Delaware was thrown in there too and that just bugged me, but thanks to my sister living in New York before she moved to ND, I was able to sneak down to Delaware before heading home when we visited last summer. Now, the only two I have left are Washington and Alaska. I hope to make it to both in one trip. It would seem pointless to get to one but not the other. It’s one of those “I’m already out here, why not jump on a boat and visit the other?” things.

Oh, and for those who may be wondering, here is where I’ve lived in order starting from my birth:

  • Oklahoma
  • Colorado
  • Alabama
  • Kansas
  • Wisconsin
  • Ohio
  • Pennyslvania
  • Minnesota
  • South Dakota (for college only)

And now I’m back in Minnesota until I find my dream job somewhere else. I don’t think Minnesota will be able to accommodate me for long. There are some unpaid internships in the area, but I don’t think they’ll get me into a big publishing company. The dream is NYC or Boston. Of course, both are really expensive. Notice a trend here? Everything costs money! Gah! I hate that. Sometimes I wish the old barter system was still in place.

Anyway, that’s a nice little lead-in to my life. Keep glancing back to see what’s going on and watch me try to achieve all of my dreams in the next few years!

Leave a Reply

Categories

  • No categories
